L’objectif

Depuis ses débuts historiques et anciens jusqu’à l’époque moderne, la rivière Winnipeg a toujours joué un rôle important dans la vie des gens vivant à proximité et qui l’utilisaient pour se déplacer. C’est l’importance de la rivière Winnipeg, son interaction avec les gens et ses répercussions ultimes sur l’histoire du peuplement au Canada qui forme le thème central du Musée du patrimoine de la rivière Winnipeg. Un tel développement est en partie motivé par l’idée de permettre aux communautés de profiter des retombées de la croissance et de la revitalisation économiques associées à la présence de ce type d’établissement.

Faites un don!

But 4 840 000 $
Amassé 4 155 500 $
Besoin 684 500 $

Voir l’édifice

Notre histoire

Le Musée SaintGeorges est construit en bordure de la rivière Winnipeg sur une terre donnée par l’un des premiers homesteaders québécois à s’y établir. Dans la communauté, il constitue une institution depuis des générations. Il abrite des souvenirs familiaux et des récits propres à la communauté. Le conseil d’administration de la Société historique de SaintGeorges procédait au réaménagement des expositions au moment de la catastrophe de mai 2014. Le bloc central du Musée a été complètement ravagé par l’incendie. Une quantité considérable d’objets ont été détruits par les flammes, mais bon nombre ont pu être conservés.

Aujourd’hui, le conseil d’administration du Musée du patrimoine de la rivière Winnipeg planifie la reconstruction du musée autour d’un thème renouvelé qui englobe davantage toute l’histoire de la région. Ce thème est le suivant :

Nous, les gens de la rivière!
We are the people of the river.
anishinabek ziibiing gadoongiiawt

Le nouveau Musée du patrimoine de la rivière Winnipeg fera découvrir toute la richesse de l’histoire culturelle de la région située en bordure du corridor de la rivière Winnipeg et racontera l’histoire des gens de la rivière.

Durant des siècles, la rivière Winnipeg a été une importante route de commerce et de voyage sur l’axe estouest, d’abord pour les Premières Nations, et, par la suite, pour la traite des fourrures. Il s’agissait d’une route dangereuse aux eaux rapides et aux chutes gigantesques qu’il fallait contourner par portage. Sa beauté sauvage, ses ressources abondantes et son itinéraire bien établi ont fait de la rivière Winnipeg un lieu d’établissement naturel des communautés. Les Cris et les Ojibway, et plus tard les employés des familles pratiquant la traite des fourrures, comme les La Vérendrye, ont fait de la rivière Winnipeg leur lieu de vie. La rivière est devenue l’une des principales voies d’accès, peu nombreuses, au territoire qui allait devenir le Manitoba.

 

La rivière Winnipeg est largement reconnue pour son importance historique et recherchée pour ses attractions. Aussi, des efforts sont déployés pour en faire une destination et une attraction régionales. La fierté qu’inspire à la communauté son propre patrimoine alimente notre passion collective de faire connaître la région et toute la richesse du peuplement des berges de la rivière Winnipeg au moyen de photos, d’expositions et d’une programmation interactive.

La rivière Winnipeg occupe une place importante, souvent ignorée, dans l’histoire du Manitoba.

Les postes de traite comme Fort Bas de la rivière, Fort Maurepas et Fort Alexandre attiraient des aventuriers venus de l’Est du pays ou d’Europe. Des missionnaires comme le père Joachim Allard ont séjourné à Fort Alexandre, encourageant les familles du Québec à venir s’installer ici, « à l’endroit le plus pittoresque des berges de la rivière Winnipeg », qui allait devenir SaintGeorges. À mesure que grandissaient les communautés en bordure de la rivière, les gens profitaient des richesses naturelles qu’elle avait à offrir. Au côté de l’agriculture, la pêche et la foresterie sont devenues des activités courantes.

La rivière Winnipeg a joué un rôle crucial dans le peuplement de l’Ouest canadien. Avant la « traite des fourrures » et l’arrivée des colons européens, elle jouait un rôle fondamental en ce qui a trait aux déplacements et aux échanges commerciaux des peuples autochtones installés dans les environs de la rivière jusqu’aux rives du lac Winnipeg et plus loin encore vers l’ouest, le sud et le nord. Elle a aussi permis aux peuples du NordOuest de l’Ontario d’entrer en contact avec ceux du lac Winnipeg, tout comme dans les années qui allaient suivre elle est devenue la principale voie de communication vers l’Est, et en provenance de l’Est, pour la traite des fourrures, donnant accès aux rives du lac Winnipeg et aux territoires situés audelà, quelle que soit la direction.

Memberships

The Winnipeg River Heritage Museum would like to formally invite you to join us, because museum memberships are finally available!

WRHM Member Benefits:

  • Unlimited free admissions for 12 months
  • Free admission to special exhibitions
  • Invitation to exhibition previews & members-only events
  • 10% discount in Gift Shop
  • Advance booking for special events, programs, camps, and more

Membership is more than just a free visit — it’s a worthwhile investment in yourself, your loved ones, and your community. It means you are taking action to preserve the history of the Winnipeg River region. It shows that you are an advocate for local culture, heritage, and arts. It shows us that you care and want to engage.

Membership dues will support the development of cultural experiences and programs that add to the enrichment of community life. They will help to ensure the success of this budding cultural resource, especially important in its first operating year since the 2014 fire.

Download the Membership Application Form

Rates: (+GST)

  • $40.00 – Individual
  • $35.00 – Senior (65+ years)
  • $35.00 – Student (7 – 18 years)
  • $65.00 – Family (Two adults & four children)

Q: How do I become an early-bird member?
A: Fill out our Membership Application Form (can also be found in print at the St-Georges CDC office). Submit your application by mail or in person (contact details below). Stay tuned for updated membership information once the museum doors are open.

Q: Can I give a membership as a gift?
A: Yes! Follow the same procedure as above, but provide the name and contact details of the intended giftee.

Q: If I purchase an early-bird membership, when will it take effect?
A: Your membership will be activated on the museum’s opening day and will be valid for a full 12 months.

Q: How else can I get involved with the WRHM?
A: We would love you to get involved with us! Apply to be a volunteer, or make a donation to the museum. We accept donations in person, by mail, and online through Canada Helps. Your generosity is sincerely appreciated!

Contact:

(204) 367-9970
info@winnipegrivermuseum.com
2 McDougall Ave.
PO Box 171
St-Georges, MB, R0E 1V0

Donateurs

Nous vous remercions pour votre appui!

       

Founder

  • Cultural Spaces of Canada
  • Province of Manitoba

Visionary

  • RM of Alexander

Patron

  • Diane & Edgar Dubé
  • Estate of Jean Dupont
  • Community Places
  • Manitoba Metis Federation

Benefactor

  • St-Georges Community Club
  • Francofonds
  • Thomas Sill Foundation
  • Hometown Manitoba
  • St-Georges Community Development Corporation

Champion

  • Broke & Busted
  • Caisse Groupe Financier
  • Manitoba Sport, Culture & Heritage
  • Ronald Vincent
  • Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries
  • Heavenly Pines

Trailblazer

  • Conseil de Dévelopment Économique des Municipalités Bilingues du Manitoba (CDEM)
  • Manitoba Hydro
  • Vincent Family Reunion

Believer

  • Gil & Joan Hallgrimson
  • Drew & Marie Foss
  • Sylvio Vincent
  • Parkwest Projects Ltd.
  • Construction Association of Rural Manitoba
  • NRG Management
  • ONYX Financial
  • Papertown Holdings
  • Town of Powerview-Pine Falls

Guardian

  • Broken Beau Historical Society
  • Darrell Tarrant
  • Chicken Chef
  • National Leasing
  • Ubald & Angelique Fisette in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • In Memory of Lorne and Shirley Finkbeiner
  • Cibinel Architects
  • Canaccord Genuity
  • Chevrefils Greenhouse

Friend

  • École Communautaire St-Georges
  • Brandon Museum
  • Mike & Rita Boulet
  • Eugenie Vincent
  • Doris Lemoine
  • Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries
  • Roger & Joanne Bouvier in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Paul & Pauline Bourgeois in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Cecile Alarie-Skene
  • Norma & Claude Michaud
  • Powerview Dental
  • Papineau Motors
  • Interspan Solutions
  • Bev Dubé
  • Lawrence Robson

Donor

  • Beverley Richard
  • V&O Enterprises
  • Maurice Nault
  • Ubald Fisette
  • Maurice Jeanneau
  • Antoinette Vincent in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Yvonne Chevrefils in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Ella Boulet in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Jeanine Lambert in Memory of Eugenie Vincent
  • Paul Lafreniere
  • Sherry Meade
  • Laurette Sundstrom
  • Roger Bouvier
  • Taryn Foss

Contact

Adresse

PO Box 11
St. Georges, MB
R0E 1V0

cdc@granite.mb.ca

Conseil

    • Gil Hallgrimson, Président
    • Michel Boulet, Président Sortant
    • Laurette Sundstrom, Vice- Président
    • Diane Dubé, Trésorière
    • Nicki Blatz, Secretaire
    • Daniel Boulet
    • David Parker
    • Linda Desrosiers
    • Margie Bonekamp
    • Ken Courchene

The Goal

From its historical and ancient beginnings through to modern times the Winnipeg River has played a significant part in the lives of the people who live near and travel on it. It is the significance of the Winnipeg River, the interaction of the River with the people, and the ultimate impact on the history of Canadian settlement, which is the primary focus of the Winnipeg River Heritage Museum. Part of the impetus for this development is to allow the communities to benefit through economic growth and revitalization that would be associated with a facility of this kind.

Goal $3,500,000
Raised $2,475,000
Needed $1,025,000

See the Building

Our Story

Musée Saint-Georges Museum sits on the edge of the Winnipeg River on land donated by one of the first Quebec homesteaders on the river. The museum has been an institution in the community for generations. It is the repository of family memories and community stories. The St-Georges Historical Society Inc. Board of Directors was in the process of redeveloping its exhibits when disaster struck in May 2014. The central block of the museum burned to the ground. A wealth of artifacts were lost in the fire but many were saved.

Today the Winnipeg River Heritage Museum board is planning to rebuild the museum based on the refocused theme that tells a more complete story of the region. This theme is:

Nous, les gens de la rivière!
We are the people of the river.
anishinabek ziibiing gadoongiiawt

The new Winnipeg River Heritage Museum will provide access to the rich cultural history of the area along the Winnipeg River Corridor and tell the story of the people of the Winnipeg River.

For centuries the Winnipeg River was an important east-west trade and travel route, first for the First Nations and later the fur trade. It was a dangerous route with fast moving water and huge waterfalls to portage around. Its wild beauty, rich resources and well established travel route, made the Winnipeg River a natural place for communities to put down roots. Cree and Ojibway, and later the employees of fur trading families like the La Vérendryes, made the Winnipeg River their home. The river became one of just a few major routes into what would eventually become Manitoba.

 

The Winnipeg River is widely recognized and sought for its historic significance and attractions and strives to become a Regional Destination Attraction as one of Canada’s Heart Beats. Community pride in our heritage fuels a collective passion to promote the area and its diverse history of how life developed along the Winnipeg River through its rich story telling including photos, exhibits, and interactive programming.

The Winnipeg River has a significant, and often unsung, place in the story of Manitoba.

Trade posts such as Fort Bas de la rivière, Fort Maurepas and Fort Alexander drew adventurous Easterners and Europeans. Missionaries like Father Joachim Allard stationed at Fort Alexander, encouraged Quebec families to come settle here on “the most picturesque spot on the Winnipeg River,” which would become Saint-Georges. As communities grew along the Winnipeg River, the people enjoyed the natural resources it had to offer. Fishing and forestry became staples along with farming.

The Winnipeg River played a pivotal role in the settlement of the western part of Canada. Prior to the “fur trade” and the arrival of the European settlers, the Winnipeg River was a key component to the travel and commerce of the Aboriginal peoples who populated the areas around the River and stretching to the shores of Lake Winnipeg and farther to the west, the south and the north. It also brought the peoples of north western Ontario in contact with the people of Lake Winnipeg, just as in later years it was to become the primary fur trade to and from the East, providing access to the shores of Lake Winnipeg and the land beyond in all directions.

Donors

Thank you for your generous support:

logoswrhm

Contact

Address

PO Box 11
St. Georges, MB
R0E 1V0
cdc@granite.mb.ca

Board

  • Gil Hallgrimson, President
  • Mike Boulet, Past President
  • Laurette Sundstrom, Vice-President
  • Diane DubéTreasurer
  • Nicki Blatz, Secretary
  • Daniel Boulet
  • David Parker
  • Linda Desrosiers
  • Margie Bonekamp
  • Ken Courchene